• April 18, 2021, 11:07:47 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Dir-600 Rev 5 user/password combination incorrect(factory reset,firmware update)  (Read 8649 times)

SinisterHD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hello,

I have the same problem: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65347.0
I'm from Germany, if that's important. ISP-information is not I guess:

Router worked totally fine until I upgraded the firmware from 2.11 to 2.18 on the DIR-600 H/W: B5.
The name of the zip containing the update: DIR-600_fw_revb5b6_218b01_ALL_de_20150424.zip

Now it says the standard user/password combination is incorrect after several factory resets (meaning: "admin" as a user and "" as a PW).
On Linux and Android it says the CAPTCHA is wrong, but I can't see any field to input a CAPTCHA.
If I use Noscript and deactivate script + style I can see that CAPTCHA is deactivated in the options (though I'm not able to make any changes to the options, maybe the option isn't even loaded, so maybe in fact the CAPTCHA is activated?). If you use Noscript like this you can freely browse the settings like as if you were logged in.

I tried pretty much every user/password combination coming to my mind and nothing works. "blank" written-out also doesn't do the trick.

Now I have an open WLAN which is simply dead.
What am I doing wrong? I just did what the installation instructions said:
connted via wire, delete language setting, save config, install firmware, deleted settings via factory reset.

Browsers I tried: Android: 6.0 standard browser, Debian: IceWeasel, Windows: Chrome, Firefox, even IE.

And: The connection via 192.168.0.1 is tricky. Most of the time it only works via wire. Before updating the router had 192.168.0.11 as an IP, set by my modem.
After updating that didn't work anymore, although it should I guess, since it was in AP-mode. What changed there? I don't know.

Long story short, TL; DR: The default blank password does defintely not work. :( What to do now? Please help.

Btw.: The Noscript-"hack" let me install the language pack for 2.18 even though I was not logged in.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2016, 09:09:55 PM by SinisterHD »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49577
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process

After doing the last factory reset and if you cleared the browser cache, the default user name is admin the the password is blank.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

SinisterHD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hi FurryNutz,

thanks for the advice. I read your web-links and emptied the cache. I used FireFox for this. One of the links stated that chrome could brick my device. Well that wasn't mentioned in the firmware upgrade txt. Also it wasn't mentioned to reset the router before the firmware upgrade, well - can't do that anymore.

I don't really know what changed, but now the blank password is working (I checked my old password before, that was not the problem). I don't think it had something to do with the cache of the browser since I tried with many browsers (correct me if I'm wrong please) but with resetting the router like a maniac. Well it works now,

big thanks! =)

Edit: Now it's again not working. Well I guess the firmware upgrade was a bad choice. :(
« Last Edit: August 22, 2016, 11:24:48 AM by SinisterHD »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49577
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

You can go back and factory reset, manually load the prior working version of FW, factory reset, clear the browser cache then test.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49577
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-600 Rev 5 user/password combination incorrect(RESOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2016, 11:09:06 AM »

Glad you got it working. Enjoy.
 ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49577
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49577
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Please click on the reply button instead of using modify so we get some indication of changes in this thread.

Thank you.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

SinisterHD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3

Hi,
I didn't try to change anything anymore. I think it will keep resetting to some "wrong password"-status. Maybe I will try it again another time. For now I use another router which I had lying around.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49577
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Might try a different or older FW version.
Good Luck.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.